Daily Prompt: May 15 | Hazel Grace Lancaster

IMG_1010

The prompt can be found here.

I’m probably not going to be able to post this on the day of the prompt itself, but I love this prompt so very much, and I decided to give it a shot.

So here we go, this is Hazel Grace Lancaster from The Fault in Our Stars.

bold: interviewer/Maxine regular: Hazel Grace

Hello, Hazel.

Hello.

So, Cancer.

Cancer! Yes, I haven’t been cured of cancer. Not much has changed. I still have those horrible tumors inside of me, and I’m still forced to take my meds, get my therapy, all that crap.

How bad is it?

Not as bad as it was before, but still there. Lurking. Creeping. Like a stalker.

Anyone special in your life now?

My parents; Issac, who I spend most of my time playing blind video games with. Kaitlyn – when she’s not chasing boys and worrying that her toes are too big.

I meant, romantically speaking.

[freezes] No, no no no no no. I could never- I- Ugh.

You still love Augustus?

I will never, ever stop loving Augustus Waters.

Do you miss him?

Every day. Sometimes, I go to bed thinking, what if Augustus was with me now? Right beside me. Living, breathing. But I know it’s never going to happen. Because he’s gone.

I’m sorry.

So am I.

What was your favourite part of his letter? The one he sent to Van Houten?

Everything. But mostly, how he said I was so beautiful. [chuckles] No, I’m kidding. What he said about leaving marks. Leaving scars.

I’m sure that was a hard time for you. What kept you going?

It was. My parents, Mr. and Mrs. Waters, Issac, mostly. I kept thinking, that I should die. Die and be with Augustus. But if I died, I would be affecting all of them. I didn’t want to hurt them.

You’re a time bomb.

Yes, I am. Tick, Tock, Tick, Tock.

You probably have a lot to grieve about.

No, because I don’t regret my decisions. I mean, of course, at first, I was sad, depressed. When Augustus… died. But then I realised, that I shouldn’t dwell on the past, that I should look ahead, because even though Augustus doesn’t have a future anymore, I do. //

 

fin.

Leave a Reply

